Seven sister states of north-east India


When we talk about the seven sister states of India, then one thing generally comes in our mind. Do you know what’s that thing is?

Yes, that thing is the north-eastern part of India.

There are seven states in north-east India, which are together called as seven sister state. They are Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Meghalaya, and Manipur.

Do you want to explore these beautiful states?

If you do so……..then today we will definitely try to explore it. So let’s start this without getting late.

Seven sister state of north-east India


Related Articles: –

Why these north-eastern states are called seven sister states of India?

Actually, at the very first these states were not defined by this name of seven sisters. If you have ever read the Assam history then you may know that till 1963, Nagaland was a part of Assam. And that time the whole north-eastern land defined by “Bor Ahom”.

Today’s Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Meghalaya were in a cage of same political authority. However, Tripura and Manipur both were not parts of Bor Ahom.

But after Nagaland being separated in 1963, other communities like Mizo, Khasi, and Garo also started to revolt as demand for separate political authority and Provision (In case of Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya).

In 1972 Meghalaya left away Bor Ahom. Khasi, Garo community created their own independent state in India. As like Meghalaya, in 1987 Mizoram also separated politically from its old authority.

Except, Manipur, Tripura and Sikkim, all other north-eastern states are born from one main source and that is “Bor Ahom”.

Because of this case of the same origin, many people want to call these seven states as seven sisters. Actually, seven sister term was very first introduced by a civil service person. His name was Mr. Jyoti Prasad Saikia.




Seven sister’s states and their information

1. Arunachal Pradesh: – By land area, it is the largest among seven sisters. But by population, it is the smallest ever in India. According to a report of 2012, this state population was around 13 lakhs, where its land area is 83,743 km2. When Arunanchal Pradesh was in Assam, it defined as NEFA. Its full form is North-East Frontier Agency.


2. Assam: – By land area, Assam is the 2nd largest state of north-east India. Here Ahom king Swargadeo Chawlung Sukaphaa established Ahom kingdom, which later named by Assam (British English name).

Assam’s land area is 78,438 km2 and the population is more than 3.5 crore. Before other north-eastern states were being separated this land was famous as Bor Ahom.


3. Meghalaya: – Meghalaya formatted on 21 January 1972. This is a beautiful state with unbelievable natural beauty. Here the capital of Meghalaya, Shillong is the most popular and beautiful tourist destination.

According to a report of 2012, the population of Meghalaya was about 33 lakhs. By the land area, this state is the 23rd largest state of Indian sub-continent.


4. Manipur: – This is a small state of north-east India. Manipur’s capital is Imphal. Here the population is around 30 lakhs and by land area, this state’s geography is 22,327 km2. which makes it the 24th largest state of India.


5. Mizoram: – Mizoram had become an independent state in 1987, 20 February. Aizawl is the capital of this small state. Formatted with 8 districts and 11 lakhs population. In the viewpoint of the land area, it is in 25th rank in the country. Its total area is 21,087 km2.


6. Tripura: – Tripura has already been an independent state of north-east India. Before India’s independence, Kings ruled in Tripura but after India’s independence, it became a part of it.

Now a day Tripura considered a state of north-east’s seven sisters. The maximum population of the state is Bengali and administrative language is also Bengali.

The state has the capital of Agartala. Where the current chief minister is Biplab Kumar Dev. The total population of this state is 3.7 million and the total land area is 10,491.69 km2.


7. Nagaland: – Till 1962 Nagaland was a part of Assam state but it comes in a separation in 1963, when the Naga revolution got its destination. Since then Nagaland has been standing itself as an independent state of India.

With the help especially with Naga people ‘Angami Jafu Fizu’ revolt against the Indian government to make Nagaland independent. When they were in ‘Bor Assam’ their region was famous as Naga Hills district. Later on, this hills district became Nagaland.

The total population of this state is around 3.7 million, where the land area is only 10,491.69 km2.


Read Our Another awesome Article: – A VISIT TO SIBSAGAR ESSAY IN HINDI (सिबसागर भ्रमण)


Leave a Comment

Follow us



error: Content is protected !!